# JULY 25, 2019 (Special Called)

BE IT REMEMBERED that the Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County, Tennessee, met in a special called session on Thursday, July 25, 2019, at 6:00 P.M. at the Montgomery County Courthouse. Present and presiding, the Hon. Jim Durrett, County Mayor (Chairman). Also present, Kyle Johnson, Chief of Staff, Teresa Cottrell, Chief Deputy County Clerk, John Fuson, Sheriff, Tim Harvey, County Attorney, Jeff Taylor, Director of Accounts and Budgets, and the following Commissioners:

Jerry Allbert	David Harper	Chris Rasnic
Joshua Beal	Arnold Hodges	Rickey Ray
Loretta J. Bryant	Garland Johnson	Larry Rocconi
Brandon Butts	Jason D. Knight	Joe Smith
Carmelle Chandler	Rashidah A. Leverett	Walker R. Woodruff
Joe L. Creek	James R. Lewis	
John M. Gannon	Lisa L. Prichard	

PRESENT: 19

ABSENT: Charles Keene and Tangi C. Smith (2)

When and where the following proceedings were had and entered of record, to-wit:

#### SPECIAL CALLED FORMAL

**CALL TO ORDER** – Sheriff Fuson

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE - Commissioner Carmelle Chandler

**INVOCATION** - Chaplain Joe Creek

**ROLL CALL** 

## **UNFINISHED**

19-7-4 Resolution to Levy a Tax Rate in Montgomery County, Tennessee, for the Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 as Amended

#### **ADJOURN**

## RESOLUTION TO LEVY A TAX RATE IN MONTGOMERY COUNTY, TENNESSEE, FOR THE FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2019 AS AMENDED

**Be it resolved,** by the Board of County Commissioners of Montgomery County, Tennessee, assembled in regular session on this day July 25, 2019 that:

**Section 1.** The combined property tax for Montgomery County, Tennessee, for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2019 shall be at \$2.99 for each \$100 of taxable property within the County, which is to provide revenue for each of the following funds and otherwise conform to the following levies:

	Actual 17-18	Actual 18-19	Actual 19-20
<b>FUNDS</b>	RATE	RATE	RATE
County General	\$1.1473	\$1.1380	\$1.0414
General Roads	.1115	.1101	.1100
General Purpose Schools	.7785	.7592	.6300
Debt Service	.9155	.9455	.8400
General Purpose Capital Projects	.0624	.0624	.3136
School Transportation	.0548	.0548	0550
- 	<b>#0</b> 0 <b>7</b>	42.07	#2.00
TOTAL TAX RATE	\$3.07	\$3.07	\$2.99

**Section 2.** Total taxes due shall be rounded to the nearest \$1.00 for each tax bill. Amounts from \$0.50 to \$0.99 will be rounded up, pursuant to TCA 67-5-102.

**Section 3.** All resolutions of the Board of County Commissioners of Montgomery County, Tennessee, which are in conflict with this resolution, are hereby repealed.

**Section 4.** This resolution shall take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it. This resolution shall be spread upon the minutes of the Board of County Commissioners.

Duly passed and approved this 25th day of July 2019.

Sponsor

Commissioner

Approved

County Mayor

Attested Kellis a. Jackson, Clark By: Deresa Cottell, co

# 19-7-4 (As Amended)

On Motion to Adopt by Commissioner Prichard, seconded by Commissioner Creek, the foregoing Resolution was Adopted by the following roll call vote:

District	Commissioner	Vote	District	Commissioner	Vote	District	Commissioner	Vote
1	John M. Gannon	N	8	Tangi C. Smith		15	David Harper	N
2	Charles Keene		9	Carmelle Chandler	Y	16	Loretta J. Bryant	Y
3	Joe Smith	N	10	James R. Lewis	Y	17	Chris Rasnic	Y
4	Rickey Ray	N	11	Joe L. Creek	Y	18	Jason D. Knight	N
5	Rashidah A. Leverett	Y	12	Lisa L. Prichard	Y	19	Garland Johnson	Y
6	Arnold Hodges	N	13	Walker R. Woodruff	Y	20	Jerry Allbert	Y
7	Brandon Butts	N	14	Joshua Beal	N	21	Larry Rocconi	Y

Yeses - 11 Noes - 8 Abstentions - 0

ABSENT: Charles Keene and Tangi C. Smith (2)